Second NRHA Rural Hospital CEO Certification cohort graduates

Nov 17, 2021

Contact information:

NRHA Rural Hospital CEO Certification Program

Sydney Grant


[email protected]

Second NRHA Rural Hospital CEO Certification cohort graduates

[Kansas City, Mo.] – The National Rural Health Association’s (NRHA) Rural Hospital CEO Certification Program has completed its second cohort, which started in October 2020.

Leadership makes the difference. Today’s rural hospitals and clinics face tremendous challenges and uncertainty and are closing at an unprecedented rate. One out of three rural hospitals have been identified as “at risk,” and nearly half of rural hospital CEOs are first-time CEOs. Hospital CEO turnover continues to lead all industries, and when turnover occurs, the pool of qualified candidates is limited.

NRHA’s Rural Health Leadership Education Foundation exists to fund programs that nurture current and future leaders. The current graduating cohort consists of the following NRHA CEO certified participants:

  • Aaron Edwards – Ferry County Memorial Hospital, Republic, Wash.
  • Andrea McKay – Cody Regional Health, Cody, Wyo.
  • Ashley Anthony – Delta Memorial Hospital, Dumas, Ark.
  • Bensson Samuel – War Memorial Hospital, Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
  • Brittni Oehmke- Hanover Hospital, Hanover, Penn.
  • Edred Benton – Cleveland Area Hospital, Cleveland, Okla.
  • Jake Kempton – Whidbey Health, Coupeville, Wash.
  • James Dowell – Little River Memorial Hospital, Ashdown, Ark.
  • Jessica Fisher – Tri Valley Health System, Cambridge, Neb.
  • Jerry Cayer – Lewis County Healthy System/Lewis County General Hospital, Lowville, N.Y.
  • Josh Conlee – Lawrence Memorial Health, Walnut Ridge, Ark.
  • Juli Stec – Mercy Hospital Fort Smith, Charleston, Ark.
  • Kandice Allen – Share Medical Center, Alva, Okla.
  • Kim Skidmore – Community Medical Center of Izard County, Pineville, Ark.
  • Lesley Ogden – Samaritan North Lincoln Hospital, Lincoln City, Ore.
  • Marie Harrington – Mangum Regional Medical Center, Elk City, Okla.
  • Michelle LeBeau – University of Vermont Health Network, Morrisonville, N.Y.
  • Paul Arsenault – Northern Light Health Sebasticook Valley Hospital, Pittsfield, Maine
  • Pedro Toledo – Petaluma Health Center, Petaluma, Calif.
  • Rena Salamacha – Mee Memorial Healthcare System, King City, Calif.
  • Sarah Ragsdale – Smith County Memorial Hospital, Agra, Kan.
  • Steve Henson – Bradley County Medical Center, Warren, Ark.
  • Tamra White – Burnett Medical Center, Grantsburg, Wis.
  • Tracy Warner – Greene Medical Center, Jefferson, Iowa
  • Trent Bourland – Coal County General Hospital, Coalgate, Okla.
  • Tylie Mills – Pike County Memorial Hospital, Louisiana, Mo.

NRHA extends our congratulations the October 2020 cohort.

About NRHA’s Rural Hospital CEO Certification Program
NRHA’s Rural Hospital CEO Certification Program was developed by successful rural hospital CEOs for rural hospital CEOs to help them strengthen their leadership skills and lead their hospital to success. An individual with this certification will immediately be recognized as someone qualified to lead a rural hospital with excellence.

To see our October 2020 cohort’s graduation ceremony, click here.

For more information about available programs, visit

Want to learn more about the NRHA Rural Hospital Certification Programs? 

Click Here!

Want to be informed of upcoming Cohorts? Join our email list, and select the program(s) you are interested in!

We hate SPAM. We will never sell your information, for any reason.